thisisanexperiment. no, really. it is.

Sweet Sunshine

Posted in Fashion, Life by thisisanexperiment on May 6, 2009

So work was better today,  I actually had a conversation at lunch. I’m praying for Thursday and Friday to fly by quickly!

So precious, she looks like a pretty murderous (haha  geddit) doll!

So I’ve been thinking that I’m pretty happy that I get to step out to do work in my internship role. Given the severe lack of sunshine-penetrating-windows in my office, I always find myself in such a good mood as I walk out to visit where-ever and whenever. I don’t even think I mind travelling alone (although company would be loved), or to further places to go a-nosing. I like the independence, the slight freedom of time, and the best of all, the sunshine.

Whenever I step out from the office, I find that I just love having the sunshine on my face. Puts a a smile on my face. Even if I’m perspiring like heck later. I also find that as the sunshine wanes and day moves to evening, my mood and energy level goes down (although that may also attributed to being weary).

So, I’ve been reading up on sunshine & depression!

Many studies suggest that vitamin D—often called the sunshine vitamin because the body produces the vitamin from cholesterol by the action of sunlight on the skin–plays a significant role in mood and depression. There are two main forms of vitamin D: D2, which is found in plants; and D3, which is found in animal foods. When you consume foods that contain either form of vitamin D or you are exposed to sunlight, it is converted in the liver to for to form 25(OH)D (25-hydroxyvitamin D) and then in the kidney to 1,25(OH)D.

&

For some people, lack of sunlight, usually during late fall and winter months, can bring on depression. Many people tend to feel a little down on cloudy days. People with seasonal affective disorder (SAD) experience depression during periods of gray weather. Experts believe that sunlight causes changes in a tiny structure in the brain called the hypothalamus. For some people, these changes upset the brain chemistry and cause depression.

taken from http://health.discovery.com/centers/articles/articles.html?chrome=c32&article=LC_08&center=p06

SUNSHINEEEEEEEEEE ❤

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. austereprint said, on May 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    that dress/thing is fugly.


Leave a Reply

