thisisanexperiment. no, really. it is.

The Future

Posted in Decor, Life by thisisanexperiment on May 10, 2009

Lately I’ve been thinking about that question- where do I see myself in 10 years time? What am I doing?

Honestly, I don’t know what, although I have an idea, a tintillating thought that perhaps I would be working with a purpose, and working with a life. That means flexible working times, a certain degree of independence (I find myself relishing the out-of-office travels) and preferably a beautiful lack of meetings that stretch till godknowswhatime (like the ones my boss seems to pull). I guess there is a beauty in working purposefully, or gaining a sense of fufilment and purpose from your work. But I don’t see the beauty in allowing work to overcome life.

Now to find a job, or create such a job that will let me achieve that.

I suppose it would mean working-from-home.

Which brings me to the idea of moving out. It’s never lost its lustre, that idea, not since I was 14. I think I would like the use of wood furninshings and floorings. It lends a certain homely-feel to a home that one should have. Dark wood, white-washed wood, coloured wood. Plenty of light. I loe the use of white in homes. Eclectic furnishings that sorta don’t match, but somehow mysteriously just work together, with the right amount of clutter.

I love the idea of a small NY apartment that’s filled with bric-a-bracs and the presence of its owner(s).

I think I don’t want a bed (at least for the first year). I’ll get by with the thickest mattress I can find, laid out against the wooden floor.

I want a tall bookshelf/shelves stuffed with books (that I read, of course).

Pictures, photographs, drawings, lightings on the wall, off the wall.

qYEHdX4X3klb6i6jWhTz4gtCo1_500

I want a shophouse. That’s it.I mean, does this not look like a sanctuary?

Desperately looking for a flatmate,

the experimenter.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 303 said, on May 10, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Home Decorating – Garden, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom Decor…

  2. With the economy situation nowadays, apartments are offering more affordable rates. There are lots of apartments available in the NY area so you shouldn’t have a problem finding one. Those are nice pictures though, I like your style.


Leave a Reply

