thisisanexperiment. no, really. it is.

Fear Factor

Posted in Interest, Life by thisisanexperiment on November 23, 2009

I have come to the realisation that I tend to be a late adopter of technological products or innovations.

Take for example, Twitter. Everyone has a Twitter account. Hell, maybe my dog has one and I probably don’t even know about it. I don’t have one. I simply don’t think my life is interesting enough. And I haven’t been so curious about someone’s day-to-day life that I simply MUST follow him/her on Twitter. Sometimes a little mystery is nice, sometimes it’s just nice to be able to meet up with friends and THEN find out what’s been going on. I don’t even think I’ve actually explored the Twitter page very much.

So much ‘Twitter’ for a paragraph. :/

Hmm.

Second point. Skype or webcams. The only reason I have a Skype account is because I thought it’d be a good way to keep in contact with my friends on exchange. It is a good way. Except, I rarely log on (because I forget that I have an account, which kinda defeats the purpose) and also, it’s kinda sad that I have only 3 people on my account. :\

Dear Friends, please add me. Or ask me to add you. Whichever.

I suspect the reason why I took so long to warm up to webcams is because it feels very odd. Like an invasion of privacy. Did I mention a fear that one day my webcam would be mysteriously on (even though I didn’t switch it on) and I would be in my room, just out of the shower?

Perhaps my tech-lag is heredity. But I think my parents are trying to catch up; just the other day, my mother asked me what’s Facebook all about. I was horrified. It felt abit like the end of the world. I pretended to be confused with what my father was saying (in a concurrent conversation) and ran away so I wouldn’t have to face the potential awkwardness of my mother making me set up a Facebook account for her. Or making me show her my Facebook account.

Yes, I am very irrational. I need Rational-Emotive Therapy.

 

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

