thisisanexperiment. no, really. it is.

Lazy Sunday?

Posted in Fashion, Interest, Life by thisisanexperiment on March 21, 2010

Well, I wish. I just spent a good part of the day editing a group report! Finally it’s done (more or less).

My eyes went dizzy from reading sentence after sentence, paragraph after paragraph with intermittent nonsensical crashing by Microsoft Word. Have I mentioned my dislike of how Word’s default dictionary is English (US)?

Anyway, I stumbled across this interesting article on Vogue on- model Kim Noorda’s experience with what it means to eat normally, while being in the fashion industry. If such a topic piques your interest, it certainly makes a good read.

An Excerpt to whet your tastebuds:

“I get the impression that people disapprove of change. This holds true for my job. When I look back on my career, most of my changes have been frowned upon. I was fifteen when I started, and by the time I was eighteen I did my first catwalk shows. I struggled to prevent gaining weight, whereas already I was considered to be a “heavy” model compared with the others. My agent told me I was beautiful as I was, but I had to make sure that I would not gain more. She encouraged me to lose at least some of my weight. I was ashamed that I had to diet. At home I was thinner than everybody else, but compared with other models, I was heavier. (This period in my life was rather difficult, too: My parents were divorcing in an unpleasant manner. My father and I did not get along well, and I missed his parental support in certain situations: the hard and sometimes incomprehensible fashion industry and also learning to stand on my own two feet.)

Every season I gained a little weight, and every time it felt like I was doing fewer shows. During the shows the pressure caused me to lose weight, and people complimented me on that. After the shows I gained a bit. When a month or so later I appeared for a job in front of the people who had booked me, the difference between me and my pictures was too great. Nobody said so, but I knew. So I would start eating less. Even now I ask myself, How can you lose weight responsibly? How does one do that? . . .”

For the full article, click HERE.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mark said, on March 21, 2010 at 6:55 pm


Leave a Reply

